Eleven LPS business teachers named among state's 'B.E.S.T.'

The Nebraska Department of Education recently honored 11 teachers from Lincoln Public Schools for their dedication to business education.

The LPS teachers were among 56 statewide to earn B.E.S.T. (Belong, Excel, Study and Travel) Awards. The Department of Education cited the winners’ “involvement in professional associations, community and school activities, professional leadership development and service to the business education profession,” as well as their “dedication to students, community outreach, and continual classroom improvement efforts.”

The winning teachers from LPS were:

  • Lori Anderson-Stowe, Lincoln East High School
  • Jocelyn Crabtree, Lincoln Northeast High School
  • Alexandra Fakinos, Lincoln East High School (first-year award winner)
  • Jodi Gehr, Lincoln Southeast High School
  • Julie Hippen, Lincoln Public Schools
  • Matt Maw, Lincoln East High School
  • Kim Pickering, Lincoln High School
  • Shannon Quible, Lincoln North Star High School (first-year award winner)
  • Jessica Thompson, Lincoln Southeast High School
  • Lindsay Tillinghast, Lincoln Southeast High School
  • Deb Wolken, Lincoln Northeast High School (25-year award winner)

They were honored at the Nebraska Career Education Conference on June 8 in Kearney. LPS had the most honorees among all school districts.

Published: July 9, 2018, Updated: July 11, 2018